Electrical Gremlin needs squashing

This forum is for discussion of topics relating to MX-3 lighting such as Headlights, Tail lights, Accessory Lights, Interior Lights, Etc. For example, Rear Euro Altezza Style Tail lights, Headlight units, LED's, HID's, Bulbs, Interior lights, Neons, Strobes, Auxillary Lights/Fogs or anything filament and gas discharge related.
Also anything dealing with the elctrical system.
VinceW
antispam: ~SPAM*SUX~

Electrical Gremlin needs squashing

Post by VinceW »

Hey everyone, name's Vince, I'm new to the mx-3 world and I've got a 94 1.8L v6, only upgrades its got is a body kit and euro head and tail lights, now my problem is that the battery drains overnight, now if I pull the injector relay from the fuse box under the hood its all good I just pop it in and start and go. So I've been trying to figure out why its draining power and have come across another thing which I think is connected and that's the 15amp Engine fuse under the dash, when it's in all dash lights and fans come on with out the key being in the ignition so at the moment its left out and no issues other than the power drain, also while looking around there was a wire from the alarm system spliced in to a wire going to a relay under the dash and it literally melted the plug but the relay still works..... so that's what I've gotten so far, I've stripped the dash down to the cluster the next step I will be taking if nobody can direct me is to pull the whole harness out of the dash and trace the wires and see if any have fused together or crossed somewhere, any info is greatly appreciated thanks for looking and I'll answer any questions to the best of my knowledge. I don't know how to post pics in here but I have some if you know how to do that.
ganue
Supporting Member

Re: Electrical Gremlin needs squashing

Post by ganue »

Get rid of all traces of the alarm. Then start your diagnosis.
1993 GS SE - "slow" (Stock) - SOLD