How is my soldering?

This forum is for discussion of topics relating to MX-3 lighting such as Headlights, Tail lights, Accessory Lights, Interior Lights, Etc. For example, Rear Euro Altezza Style Tail lights, Headlight units, LED's, HID's, Bulbs, Interior lights, Neons, Strobes, Auxillary Lights/Fogs or anything filament and gas discharge related.
Also anything dealing with the elctrical system.
Ryan
antispam: ~SPAM*SUX~

How is my soldering?

Post by Ryan »

Although it says expressly in the MS assembly guide to not let MS be your first attempt at soldering, this is my first attempt to solder anything to a PCB.

I'm using a 20w pencil iron and a silver bearing solder (unsure of composition)

The main question I have, is if its supposed to 'cone' on both sides of the board or not? You can get it to work with an amount of solder, or twice that amount, it just flows through to the 'bottom'.

Also, I hear they use 'alcohol' to clean the flux off, but what sort of alcohol? Smirnoff? Grey Goose? Rubbing? Absinthe?
Now with Moderator power!

Black '93 BP RS - wrecked, parted, scrapped.
Green GS - Sold.
Black GS - Summer DD/Race car - Fancy KLZE
Red GS - K8-ATX -> MTX-KLDE - Frakencar. Scrapped
White GS - Rusty. Parts. Scrapped
1997 BMW M3 - my summer baby
2002 BMW 325Xi - sold
2003 Forester Xti - EJ20K swapped.
Feedback
Mi|<E

Re: How is my soldering?

Post by Mi|<E »

Try to use less heat if you can as you are starting to warp the board a bit. Yeah you
want cones on both sides.

The biggest thing to watch for is too much heat can lift off the circular contact on the board
then its a mess to fix.

Rubbing alcohol for the board, grey goose in your mouth - dont mix this up.
Ryan

Post by Ryan »

thanks for your input!

I'm pretty sure what you're seeing as 'warpage' is just excess flux on the board. I'll wipe it down with grey... no, wait, rubbing alcohol, and I'll snap another photo.

Green GS - Sold.
2002 BMW 325Xi - sold
Feedback
Nd4SpdSe

Post by Nd4SpdSe »