MX-3 SCCA Improved Touring Club Racer Project

In this section, Users can post worklogs for their vehicle and show users their projects. (MX-3 ONLY!). Please create only ONE topic when starting a project, and DO NOT create 2 worklogs for the same vehicle, even though they are different projects. READ THE STICKY!
Frost881
antispam: ~SPAM*SUX~

MX-3 SCCA Improved Touring Club Racer Project

Post by Frost881 »

Hey guys! I'm a newbie round these parts but not new to Mazdas

Just wanted to introduce myself and my project

Here’s the scoop; I found it on craigslist in Highland Michigan. It was listed as a prepared car for competition in SCCA Club Racing in "Improved Touring C" ("C" as in "I can’t possibly C how a racecar could be this slow...more on that later). The previous owner went through all the work to get it classified in ITC but the SCCA dropped the ball so when he went to race it in 2010 he still had to run it in the STU class because the ITC classification had not yet been finalized. The car has seen action at two official races, most recently at the 12 hours of nelson ledges where it lasted 3 hours before smoking what was likely the original clutch. He had not run it at any point during the 2011 season and was looking to get out of it to get a little cash and have a little more time to focus on other projects. I first saw the car on December 17th at the pole barn which he was storing this car as well as several other MX-3’s and several Miata’s. I looked it over, started it, drove it, and fell in love right there. I put $100 down on the car and the next day my buddy and I showed up at the barn with his truck and a flatbed from u-haul and drove it back home to Canton.