AC clutch engaging and disengaging RPMs oscillate

4-Cyl. Technical/Performance Discussions
sonsky

AC clutch engaging and disengaging RPMs oscillate

Post by sonsky »

94 base 4-cyl
When I turn AC on and rev up to 2000 rpms the ac clutch goes back and forth. During the normal driving the ac turns on for 6 sec, then is off for another 4 sec - so the cycle repeats every 10 secs. This has impact on rpms I feel a slight increase/decrease of power during the switching.
I suspect 2 problems that together make this effect:
1. faulty IAC valve that causes rpm drop when ac kicks on
2. leak or low pressure in ac system causing cluch to engage and disengage
But I may be wrong. I'm not a mechanic - just a user.

Any ideas?
Ryan
antispam: ~SPAM*SUX~

Re: AC clutch engaging and disengaging RPMs oscillate

Post by Ryan »

This happens in my mothers 04 Nissan Sentra as well. Manual tranny, no cruise. When the AC kicks in and out I can change speeds by up to 10km/h each way. Its really annoying, but I think its normal. Maybe not as extreme as you, but I think some change in the RPMs is normal with the AC coming on. Not as frequent either.

They say an AC is a load that uses up to 20hp. With a 112hp engine, thats a whole lot.
I prefer 2/60 AC :)

Mooneggs has the Eco switch and Shameen knows what it does. I think it fixes that problem?
Now with Moderator power!

Black '93 BP RS - wrecked, parted, scrapped.
Green GS - Sold.
Black GS - Summer DD/Race car - Fancy KLZE
Red GS - K8-ATX -> MTX-KLDE - Frakencar. Scrapped
White GS - Rusty. Parts. Scrapped
1997 BMW M3 - my summer baby
2002 BMW 325Xi - sold
2003 Forester Xti - EJ20K swapped.
Feedback
sonsky

Post by sonsky »

It turns out that the ac was overcharged and it was causing the clutch to engage and disengage. Adjusting pressure to the proper level fixed one problem.
I still have a question for u guys. Can someone check if the rpms drop on idle when u turn ac on?
Volones

Post by Volones »