never replaced a halfshaft.

4-Cyl. Technical/Performance Discussions
snkcld

never replaced a halfshaft.

Post by snkcld »

what does replacing a front left half shaft entail?

does it require that i replace my transmission oil, too?

what all will i need before i do it?

i have never done this before, i know nothing about it, and i know both of my cv joints are fucked.

any links to directions would help
PATDIESEL
antispam: ~SPAM*SUX~

Post by PATDIESEL »

First of all you need an air compressor and a pretty good air gun. The hub nuts are a PITA to get off with a breaker bar. I've never been able to get one off with a breaker bar, but I've heard others that have. The trans fluid shouldn't need to be refilled and none should spill out, but it is a good idea to replace it if it is old. Also, take a look at the axle seals on the trans. If they look old, dry or broken you should get new ones. There are also seals on the hubs where the axles go in, same as the trans seals, if they look bad replace them.