Questions about amps, subs and speakers.

Car Stereo/Alarm Discussions
spano

Questions about amps, subs and speakers.

Post by spano »

I'm new to the whole audio/stereo stuff and i'm not sure exactly how everything works. I have a few newbie questions, and hopefull i can get some answers.

If you change your speakers, do you need an amp for them or not?

If you have for example a 1000 watt amp, what kind of subs can it power? Like how many and what power?

I'm sure I have more questions but for now this is what I can think of. Thanks in advance.
93SOHC

Post by 93SOHC »

okay here goes:
for your speaker ?: If you replace the four speakers, I would sugest getting a small 4 channel amp. I have four 125 watt speakers (doors rear hatch) and they are hooked up to my stoick head unit which is 70 watts per channel. It works fine, but I have to turn it way up to hear them over my 1400 watt sub, causing the stereo to get pretty hot. so if you can get a small 4 channel it will definately take some strain off your head unit

As far as Subs and amp goes. Not too many amps actually produce what they actually say. The higher the quality of amp you buy the better sound clarity you will get. If you want only one sub(which I recommend) you can either get a single channel amp or a bridgeable 2 channel. For example: I have one 12" sub, and my amp is a bridgeable 2 channel, which means that the way it is hooked up all 1400 watts of my amp are going to the one speaker, instead of 700 to 2 of them.

Also if you plan on putting more than 500 watts in your car, I would highly reccomend getting a capacitor, unless you want all your lights dimming when the bass hits. A capacitor is kinda like a battery that has stored energy. When your amp wants to suck more power than the car can handle (ie bass hittin hard) the amp takes the power from the cap. instead of your alternator and battery.