UK MX3 Insurance

A place for the MX-3 Community in Europe to gather.
psneddon

UK MX3 Insurance

Post by psneddon »

Just a few questions....I'm fairly new to cars, the MX3 is my first :)

1) Do insurance groups ever go down? Why the hell is the MX3 still a group 15!

2) Does anyone know any insurance companies that give decent quotes for the MX3. I currently pay £1500 for 3rd partys (I'm 26 and just past my test 3 months ago). I've tries 100's of online quotes and the cheapest I can calcuate for next year is about £900 fully comp with Endsliegh (but only if I add a second experienced driver)

Paul
storm99

Re: UK MX3 Insurance

Post by storm99 »

Hi Paul,
I'm sorry to say that insurance groups never go down. The reason the MX-3 is a group 15 is because of the V6.
Don't be totally dismayed though, because the group rating isn't the be all and end all. I'll give you an example from experience. When my friend was looking for a new car, he had a choice between an MX-3 V6 or a 1.6 Citroen Saxo VTR. The Saxo is a group 8, but the insurance quotes he was getting on the Citroen were WAY more expensive than the Mazda. This is down to the 'reputation' that the insurance companies associate with a car. The Saxo VTR is renowned for being cheap, easy to modify and resonably quick, and has been a favourite of the 'Max Power' boy racer types for several years. This reputation increases the premium. On the other hand, the MX-3 is relativly rare in the UK, and doesn't have any sort of reputation to speak of, so the premium is lower.
The best place to look for car insurance is confused.com, They did both me and my friend a great deal on our V6s. They search all of the online insurance companies and give you a list of the cheapest.