Interior Neons - How to??

This forum is for discussion of topics relating to MX-3 lighting such as Headlights, Tail lights, Accessory Lights, Interior Lights, Etc. For example, Rear Euro Altezza Style Tail lights, Headlight units, LED's, HID's, Bulbs, Interior lights, Neons, Strobes, Auxillary Lights/Fogs or anything filament and gas discharge related.
Also anything dealing with the elctrical system.
race_me_baby

Interior Neons - How to??

Post by race_me_baby »

Hey guys. Does anyone know a how to thing on installation of these? or even a website? I bought a 150 mm dual neon rod kit for under the dash in my car but don't want to pay all the extra $$ to get them pro-installed. I heard it's super easy but i have no real experience. How do I know which wires to attach the neons to under the dash once I cut off the adaptor? aren't there a bunch of wires under there? i don't want to cut off power to something...

<small>[ April 29, 2004, 02:15 PM: Message edited by: race_me_baby ]</small>
My 1993 Precidia MX-3 GS in the works. Wicked New Paint Job, New 10" subs
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/589196
FlyingMXer

Re: Interior Neons - How to??

Post by FlyingMXer »

Later, D
92 4-banger (totaled unfortunately. Current ride is 2001 Mustang GT)
LooseChangeRacing

Re: Interior Neons - How to??

Post by LooseChangeRacing »

Ok well, haha, that didn't really anwser your question, (the previous topic) so here we go.

The joy of neons.
Basicly, the adapter that fits into your cigerette lighter holds two wires. On most neons (walmart) and such, they look almost exactly the same. But there is always a difference.

Make sure to seperate them a bit, maybe 3 inches then strip them so that you can see the wire.

On the plastic coating of the wire, you'll see a subtle difference. I've noticed these differences.

The power wire has a blue or white line down the side of the plastic coating.
The ground wire is brown, while the power wire is gray (the actual wire not the plastic)