V6 intake sound

V6 Technical/Performance Discussions
mx3man83

V6 intake sound

Post by mx3man83 »

Whattup, ive got a cone filter on my stock intake tube and it sounds pretty good, not like honda loud, but its got a nice smooth growl. I had the same set up on my RS with the maf, and it wasnt near as loud. My question is this....if i was to get rid of the stock tube and adapt some sort of metal intake tube from another car would it be louder? Im no expert in enginerring but something leads me to believe that the little resonators(ridges) on the stock tube help to muffle intake noise. Not only the ridges, but the big ole "horn" thing that is hooked to the stock tube. Has anyone heard a GS with a cone filter on a stock tube compared to a metal intake tube?? Thanks..
Combat kit, Spectra blue paint, shaved, Black ADR flite 4 17's/ Yokahama ES 100's, straight through 2.5 inch cat back exhaust, CAI, Straight neck IM KLZE, poly filled motor mounts, Kl48/ Eprom chip, black altezzas, Wet Zex 75 shot, Walbro 255 fuel pump, Cosmo AFPR, GS SE all black interior, RF 1kbd amp, RF 12 HE2's (2), US acoustics 4 channel amp
My Cardomain site
Spydie

Re: V6 intake sound

Post by Spydie »

I've tried both and am using a pipe right now....I can't say I noticed a difference in engine sound except that now I distinctly hear the sucking of air sound alot more.
http://members.cardomain.com/spydie
"So I said to my one legged wife, I said...'Peg', you're 'cut-off'."
mx3man83

Post by mx3man83 »

Sweet, thanks..Thats what i was hoping. Im going to get a metal tube here soon enough if not for sound or air flow, then looks at least.
Combat kit, Spectra blue paint, shaved, Black ADR flite 4 17's/ Yokahama ES 100's, straight through 2.5 inch cat back exhaust, CAI, Straight neck IM KLZE, poly filled motor mounts, Kl48/ Eprom chip, black altezzas, Wet Zex 75 shot, Walbro 255 fuel pump, Cosmo AFPR, GS SE all black interior, RF 1kbd amp, RF 12 HE2's (2), US acoustics 4 channel amp
My Cardomain site