possible RX-7 purchase

Other - General Mazda Discussions
2.5mx3

possible RX-7 purchase

Post by 2.5mx3 »

Hey all,<p>I drove to NJ on Monday to see a 1995 RX-7 that I found for sale. It's beautiful - metallic silver Touring Edition, only 64K miles, interior and exterior in excellent shape and the engine and turbos run like new. It looks like the previous owner had a lot of the plumbing replaced because most of the hoses look brand new. I've been reading as much as I can about the rotary and what to look for and this RX-7 seems to test okay. Of course, I'm still learning about this engine, and the engine bay looks very alien to me. :)
Hank
'92 MX-3 ZE *SOLD*
'05 RX-8 Touring

--All those who wander are not lost-- JRR Tolkien
Sonicxtacy02

Re: possible RX-7 purchase

Post by Sonicxtacy02 »

i'd say go for it.. IF you dont mind putting in alot of wrench work yourself. the warranty is good and all but i'm sure you're planning to keep the car for more than 2 years and the late gen rx-7's will eat a BIG whole for maintence throughout its life. 17000 is a pretty good deal for one, especially since they are so rare around here. Aside from the insurance costs, i think the only reason NOT to buy it would be if your not capable of learning how to fix it yourself. You could get a TON of information on rotary repairs from rx-7 forums but ultimately you have to put in the time to do it. Good luck hank!
Shaun Newman
SOLD 1994 Blaze Red GS/ SOLD 1994 Chaste White GS-R
2.5mx3

Post by 2.5mx3 »

Thanks Shaun. I really am new to the rotary engine, but I'm sure most people don't know a lot about it when they buy their first RX-7. If I buy it, I plan on maintaining it just like my MX-3.<p>Another consideration is my girlfriend. She's not at all pleased that I might be buying another sporty car. LOL She's giving me that "Well, do what you want" routine, but of course she's really saying "If you buy that car, you'll be sleeping in it". ;) <p>Women...
Hank
'92 MX-3 ZE *SOLD*