To turbo, or find new car

4-Cyl. Technical/Performance Discussions
Egfconnor

To turbo, or find new car

Post by Egfconnor »

Hey guys,

So i have a 1994 mazda mx3, 1.6l dohc. basically ive messed with a custom intake, put new brakes on, done audio stuff and replaced plugs/wires/cap/ basically all the easy stuff. The car leaks a little oil onto the tranny, and doesnt burn much at all unless i beat the heck out of it. I like the car alot, but am trying to decide:

Should i do a custom turbo setup? if so...i would need alot of help and info from you guys,

Or should i look for a car that has more potential?

Im a high school student, and really im looking at not having much more then 1,000 bucks to spend.
I was considering a engine swap, but i dont have the money for many of the swaps, and i think it would end up being a little over my head.

Anyone got some thoughts? i can post pictures of engine bay if ya like...its pretty clean with all the stock intake stuff gone i guess.

* oh and if i was going to consider turboing it...i would probably replace the timing belt, check all the compressions and replace the gaskets.
Ryan
antispam: ~SPAM*SUX~

Re: To turbo, or find new car

Post by Ryan »

I am also a high school student :)

Its an auto? Don't upgrade without the MTX swap. Your tranny will fry.

I plan on doing the BP swap for tops $500. 100 on gaskets, 200 on motor, 50 on ECU, $50 Belts, fried valves, fluids....and the rest is for unforseen costs.

Also, I have an entire shop to do my work in. I work for Mazda :) Vehicle and engine hoists, pneumatics, and every tool imaginable when it comes to cars... My mechanic is also a very helpful guy.