Squeezing Ponies

V6 Technical/Performance Discussions
fowljesse
Supporting Member

Squeezing Ponies

Post by fowljesse »

Hi, all! I'm new to this site, and love it! Thanks to everyone making it happen! I have had a SE for almost a year. I'm new to computerised cars, but have been hot-rodding for a while, and have ideas for ignition upgrades. Let me know if it's a bad idea for our cars (These work well on big old American engines). I know they won't make a big difference, but every little bit counts...

After adding the external coil and good wires, I was thinking about shortening the leads (I did this already on the old NGKs that came with the car and ended up with a couple of feet of extra wire). This is good for maybe 8-10 ohms less resistance on new wires (more on old ones), but tedious to do. Then I'd index the plugs, and open the gap slightly. I know this sounds scary, but I've done it for years (only with a strong coil). This causes them to burn slightly hotter, so I'd go with a set of plugs 1 heat range cooler. Of course, I make sure they're not arcing to the heads.
Let me know if there is any REAL reason (not just flaming) that this would not work. if it sounds okay, I'll do it and report any changes, including gas milage.
Also, I'd like to know if anyone has hooked up MSD?
Lookin' forward to learning everything I can, and sharing my knowledge of `Voodoo~ hot-rodding :twisted:
Jesse
lakersfan1

Post by lakersfan1 »

You're going to cut your plug wires for 8-10 ohms? You do realize that the stock style wires for this car are about a THOUSAND ohms resistance per foot, right? An aftermarket 'performance' style plug wire might ONLY be a HUNDRED ohms per foot.
fieromx3
Supporting Member

Post by fieromx3 »