5 spd woes

A forum for discussions regarding the MX-3' transmission. Swap, technical, and troubleshooting info should be placed here.
crowgo
antispam: No

5 spd woes

Post by crowgo »

First, I'm totally new to MX-3.com and mx-3's in whole. Just recently purchased a '94 for my son, we hope to fix it up. The problem right now is the shifter (lever) has dropped through the floor. We can lift it and shift through the gears. Does anyone have any ideas, experience, drawings etc. HELP!!!!
hgallegos915

Re: 5 spd woes

Post by hgallegos915 »

weld a bracket to it or replace the mount.
-hec

MX-3 w/ curved neck millenia klde, boosted @ 5 psi. /bov and wastegate are good!/ nitto drag radial/ gutted interior/ millenia red top injectors, vortech fmu/aem wideband/ all bolts ons/ Car put together 100% by me. Mechanic? who needs a mechanic? ew.. real men work on their own cars!
wytbishop

Post by wytbishop »

http://www.mx-3.com/manuals/showimg.php ... J2-054.gif" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Item #29 in this diagram, the extension bar, is the problem. It is a common problem. The shift lever passes through it and bolts to the shift control rod. The base plate acts as the pivot point for the shifter. In order to control vibration the shifter is isolated from the base plate by a large rubber bushing which is bonded to the base plate on either side. When they get old the rubber dries out and the bonds break and the shifter falls through.

There was a guy who made a bracket the "Shifter Anti-Drop Bracket" or some such. I would just go to the local wrecker and find one that is in decent shape. It's fairly easy to change. Your other option would be to remove the parts and fill the cavity with a 2 part polyurethane mixture. Lots of guys use this polyurethane to fill their motor mounts to make them stiffer.