SOHC -> DOHC

4-Cyl. Technical/Performance Discussions
SpikeDerailed

SOHC -> DOHC

Post by SpikeDerailed »

Can you take the DOHC B6 Head and bolt it up to a block that was originally a SOHC? Or are there different bolting pattern & torque specs between the two?
mr1in6billion
Supporting Member

Post by mr1in6billion »

um... my vote says no.
Bochek

Post by Bochek »

i allways thought you could, but thats just me, maby i was wrong, i uno, someone will know for sure tho.

Bochek
torpedan

Post by torpedan »

The better question is which will take more time and effort. All in all I personally would spend less time just directly swapping in the newer motor than i would doing a head swap.
-torp.
I don't own a Mazda.
Boris

Post by Boris »

I have a question... Do you mean swapping a 1.6L DOHC miata head (B6ZE) onto a 1.6L MX3 block (BPE)?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I'm still kind of new to Mazdas. I would be VERY interested if I could swap a DOHC head onto my SOHC block too... I don't wanna do an engine swap because I've bought a clutch for my engine already and don't know whether it would fit on another engine...
torpedan

Post by torpedan »

Boris wrote:I have a question... Do you mean swapping a 1.6L DOHC miata head (B6ZE) onto a 1.6L MX3 block (BPE)?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I'm still kind of new to Mazdas. I would be VERY interested if I could swap a DOHC head onto my SOHC block too... I don't wanna do an engine swap because I've bought a clutch for my engine already and don't know whether it would fit on another engine...
The SOHC mx-3 block is a B6E a BP is a 1.8l.

For 94 and up Mx-3s the 1.6l head is DOHC, from what i understand it outflows the miata head as well.
-torp.
I don't own a Mazda.
Domnknpimp

Post by Domnknpimp »

torpedan wrote:The better question is which will take more time and effort. All in all I personally would spend less time just directly swapping in the newer motor than i would doing a head swap.