V6 Manual Transmission Fluid Change and Speedometer Gear

V6 Technical/Performance Discussions
neumann

V6 Manual Transmission Fluid Change and Speedometer Gear

Post by neumann »

I am a newbie, so please....mercy.

I am trying to change the manual tranmission fluid on my 3 week old (to me) 1994 GS. I believe the current fill is about 2 years old. Shifts are a little rough and I figure that I will do a bunch of stuff that I would do in the next couple of years anyhow. I plan to keep this car for at least 3 or 4 years so I would rather put the work in at the beginning to enjoy the results

I value this board as it led me to my MX-3 and I have found a valuable thread on the subject at:
http://www.mx-3.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.ph ... ear+filter

which saved me some potential heartache. but I have a couple of questions.

My major issues are that as an Ontario car the corrosion from road salt locks everything into place, and the fact that my car is so low I car barely get a jack underneath and when I do, it can barely get high enough to slip jackstands under.

I lack a 23 MM socket (Darn it i have a 22 and 24 mm!) so I guess I will have to buy one to get the drain plug out. However from experience, I always try to figure out how i will fill the thing before I drain it. Don't ask, but it involves draining oil out of a sump and then discovering that the (plastic) oil filller cap had melted itself shut. :oops:

I was intrigued by the speedometer gear suggestion as a fill point. My fluid level check thingy is on extra tight and even if I can get it off, the top down method of filling through the speedo gear tube seems cleaner. Thanks to atlantamx3's posts I beleive I have successfully located it as the only thing in the vicinity of the fuel filter just below the and in front of the battery. It has a heavily iinsulated wire coming from the rear and a smaller stiffer wire going up front, but mine has a 12mm bolt. Is this the right thing?