Snapped An Axle...Common??

A forum for Drag Strip/Track Racing Discussions. (NO Street Racing or Kill Stories, they WILL be deleted.)
Slammed6

Snapped An Axle...Common??

Post by Slammed6 »

OK, i just got my MX-3 running not too long ago and i had issues with my CM clutch i bought and had to put the car together with a stock Mx-3 flywheel and clutch. These are my parts i have in there:

-KLZE (straight neck version, KL31 cams)
-Millenia Intake manifold
-KL36 ECU
-Outlaw Phenolic Spacers
-MBX Underdrive Pulley
-MBX SS Clutch Line
-SS Autochrome Headers
-2.5" Header Back Piping
-Major Weight Reduction (Cars approx 2200 Lbs)
-Fidanza 8.8 Lb Flywheel
-Clutchmasters Stage 4 (4-puck sprung)

Well i ran the car several times with the stock clutch slipping and it ran great...but today i got my new disk from Clutchmasters. So i decided to throw it in and installed my new Fidanza flywheel in at the same time.

I drove it around punching outa couple times just to see how well it grabs...it was perfect. Well i opened it up and then went to shift into second and then car was like in permanent neutral. Come to find out i snapped my passenger side axle. Is this a common problem or do u think it was a faulty axle?? These are brand new axles from AutoZone, you think its a factory defect or does this happen with other people??

Thanks in advance.
PATDIESEL
antispam: ~SPAM*SUX~

Post by PATDIESEL »

Aftermarket axles are not built with the same specs as stock axels. I found that out when trying to get a custom axle for my LSD. When buying from a parts store it is not likely that you are getting a remanned Mazda axle but one that a company made themselves. The ones they make will be just enough to get by to save money. So that is your problem. Go get a pair from Mazda (I know they will be expensive) or get a high HP set (probably not much more in cost) Those crappy aftermarket ones just aren't going to hold up.