MORE PICS: What is this? (vaccum problems)

V6 Technical/Performance Discussions
greenstorm

MORE PICS: What is this? (vaccum problems)

Post by greenstorm »

hey guys all help is appreciated. I'm a noobish mechanic so while i was able to put in the engine and all, i am having trouble with a few minor things

I was able to start my new engine (hooray) but im having a couple of issues due to vacuum leaks.

what is this and where does it attach to?

you see those vaccum thingers under the TB? what goes to it?

what kind of car IS that?
Robotaz

Post by Robotaz »

Goto to the shop manual on this site. The bottom picture would be the EGR solenoid valves found in section F2, pp 125-126. The front solenoid valve goes to the air cleaner and the back one goes to the EGR valve. The "top" ports of the two connect to each other. *EDIT* The top picture is the PRC solenoid valve, which the manual says controls vacuum to the pressure regulator. The PRC solenoid valve mounts to the air cleaner assembly facing the distributor. The end with two ports is different on yours than mine. The top port on mine is capped. I have a '93 GS w/ an ATX.
Last edited by Robotaz on April 3rd, 2005, 9:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
greenstorm

Post by greenstorm »

I have no EGR on this KLZE, should i just plug them (any recommendations how to?)
Robotaz

Post by Robotaz »

I never just plug anything so I couldn't tell ya. Did ya see that I found the part in your top picture in my first post?
greenstorm

Post by greenstorm »

yes. hmm i got rid of my air box and went for a CAI type deal... i wonder how i mount it etc
babyblueMX3
Supporting Member

Post by babyblueMX3 »

k since you got no egr..you can cap the little nipple that normally plugs on the intake tube. trow away the bracket with solenoid that was behind your tb and make sure everything that was connected to is capped. there's a lot of struff you can throw out when you don't have egr.