revs limited to 2,800 rpm in 1993 MX-3 (4 cyl)

4-Cyl. Technical/Performance Discussions
Civic driven01

revs limited to 2,800 rpm in 1993 MX-3 (4 cyl)

Post by Civic driven01 »

I dont know if anyone here can help, but a friend of mine has an old 1993 MX3 with the 1.6L 5spd. It runs fine except it stumbles when the rpms reach around 2,800 rpms regardless of what gear its in or even if its neautral. Its like theres a rev limiter there but not really. Its like its losing fuel or ignition at that partucluar point in the rpm range. Brandnew cap rotor, plug wires, ecu, map sensor, and distributor have been replaced already. I believe the distributor was replaced with a used one though. no sign of any check engine light. As soon as it stumbles at 2,800 the engine quickly regains and remains running. This problem occurred out of the blue since it has occurred it has been 100% consistent. It seems like an ignition problem of some kind to me, but I'm not a certified mechanic who works on mazdas everyday. Its a beater but its his only mode of transportation and hes a good guy, that I'm trying to help out. thanks in advance.
matt_fulghum

Post by matt_fulghum »

weird..... there's something in the intake manifold called VRIS where it alters the runner length to let in more air, which starts to open around there, I believe, but I doubt that'd be the problem.

Maybe it's a bad oxygen sensor or air flow meter? Is this problem there when he floors it? That'd be a helpful test.
Civic driven01

Post by Civic driven01 »

I just spoke with my friend and its actually 3k rpms where it experiences fuel or ignition cut. I personally think that hes not getting spark once he reaches that rpm level for one reason or another. He experiences this problem regardless of throttle position as well.
johnboi85

Post by johnboi85 »

it's not called vris. he said it's a 1.6. if it's a sohc, he's got nothing. if he has a dohc, he's got vics. it opens at 5K rpm so it's not relevant in this case.