DRL re-wiring help

This forum is for discussion of topics relating to MX-3 lighting such as Headlights, Tail lights, Accessory Lights, Interior Lights, Etc. For example, Rear Euro Altezza Style Tail lights, Headlight units, LED's, HID's, Bulbs, Interior lights, Neons, Strobes, Auxillary Lights/Fogs or anything filament and gas discharge related.
Also anything dealing with the elctrical system.
yuuki

DRL re-wiring help

Post by yuuki »

i know that there is a full site about this with step by step procedures (http://www.mx3gsr.freeservers.com/clear_inst.htm#part3) but I have little experience in dealing with these type of jobs...

i can disable the DRL by removing the white connector right above the module that the guy is holding in this pic http://www.mx3gsr.freeservers.com/pics/drl1.jpg is that the right piece to remove when disabling and then rewiring the DRL?

I'm not sure as to which connector is used when rewiring the DRL's, but i'd really like to rewire them to put less strain on my alternator with the 65W wasted a piece DRL's... and to lengthen the life of my headlight bulbs...

another question would be is if it was possible to remove the power resistor completely to have it feed the headlights with the full 65W for the DRL's since 65W is already wasted if the power resistor is there anyway

any responses and help are greatly appreciated!! thanks

<small>[ March 14, 2004, 09:10 PM: Message edited by: yuuki ]</small>
Taras

Re: DRL re-wiring help

Post by Taras »

Why don't you just remove a resistor under the hood ans wire the drl's directly to your front parking lights. This way you do not waste as much power. I beleive it is one of the suggections on Luc's site.
Taras
'92 GS Gray ZE
'05 Gixxer 750
MxWest VP
www.mx-west.com
yuuki

Post by yuuki »

thanks for the response :) , yeah i have thought of that, but i don't know if i pulled the right connector (white) to remove the DRL's or not, all i know is when i pulled it the DRL's do not come on anymore...