Check engine light is on?

4-Cyl. Technical/Performance Discussions
Thestef

Check engine light is on?

Post by Thestef »

Hi guys, I have an 1993 Mazda Precidia, 1.6L 4Cyl, SOHC.

The orange check engine light started coming on not to long ago on the car. It will only turn on once the car is at its full operating tempeture and once I start doing highway driving, 50Mph and up or 80Km and up.

I'm wondering if any one can tell me if I can pull the error code from the cars computer without a scanning tool? I'm hopping its nothing serious and just a sensor.

I changed and checked the oil and I've replaced the air filter as well and did a coolant change a few weeks ago, and all seems ok visualy with the car.

Thanks guys!
Thestef

Re: Check engine light is on?

Post by Thestef »

Were are the experts?
mykel78

Post by mykel78 »

I'm not an expert, but I do remember reading posts about CEL and how to obtain codes. There was discussion on pretty recently. You will need a paper clip and to know where the diagnostic connector is so you can jump 2 terminals. There's also a post that explains the codes, how to read and clear them when problem is fixed. I suggest using search, check engine light, and all the information you need should show itself to you. Good luck!!
If not broke - don't fix, modify. If broke - fix it right, and make it better.
Thestef

Post by Thestef »

I should of though of a search before posting
Thanks for the help, I found what I need
Thestef

Post by Thestef »

I just took the car for a drive, I put some gas and put a bit of oil in it, it was almost on the LOW indicator.

The check engine light didn't come on, but I checked the error code after the drive and it came up with the following codes.

Code 15 - Heated Oxygen Sensor (Inactivation)
Code 17 - Closed Loop system

I'm guessing the reason I have the closed loop system is because of a faulty oxigen sensor, but now I'm starting to wonder if maybe I just got some bad gas?