Im baaaaacccccckk!!! *****Long post*******

This section is for NEW members to introduce themselves.
atx_mx3

Im baaaaacccccckk!!! *****Long post*******

Post by atx_mx3 »

What's up guys? Most of you won't know me, some of the older members may recognize my user name. So here is my intro/story.

Almost 10 years ago, I purchased a 93 GS 5spf. It was a great car, tons of fun for a while and a nice conversation piece. Long story short, it needed a water pump and headgaskets. A 17yr old ATX_MX3 attempted to do the entire job with little to no tools and little to no REAL mechanical experience. I never got the car running(correctly) again. It ended up breaking a cam(over torqued and wrong bolt in the cam cap, it was not me) and I was a broke trade school student.

So for the last 7 years, I have been looking for a 92 or 93 GS 5spd, locally. Yesterday, I found it. 1993 GS 5 spd with a 2.5 Mx-6 motor(KLDE..sorry, its been a while)with A/C and minimal body dents(no rust here in Texas) for $1500. I am ready to conquer the beast!!! Redemption! Well..l.....ets just say things didn't go so well from the get go.

I drive 3 1/2 hours to Fort Worth. FINALLY get the owner on the phone (he stopped responding to my text and calls as soon as we got in DFW area). Strike 1
I see this MX-3 for the first time. I'm in love. I do my best to hold in my excitement....I want it! Moving on.
They said the car ran perfect...It missed really bad at WOT in any gear and had problems idling when the clutch was pressed to the floor quickly. Strike 2
The car has 18inch chrome wheels, the deal was I bring my own wheels to lower the price....They didn't have the wheel lock key. It wasn't the gorilla spline lock key...OEM Mazda. I'm not paying for the wheels and I didn't bring any tools with me. Strike 3...I almost walked.
We come to an agreement after 2 hours of negotiating. They are going to come to Austin and get the wheels at a later date.