Bang for buck- noise, ride and more.

General Mazda MX-3 Discussions
LouisvilleJesse
antispam: ~SPAM*SUX~

Bang for buck- noise, ride and more.

Post by LouisvilleJesse »

Hey mx3ers.
Im a college student who has had a mostly stock, 95 mx3 for a few years. I fell in love with it quickly. I've wanted to work on it for a long time, but I've lacked both time and money. However, this summer, I will hopefully have enough of both to get somewhere.
This is where I am aiming at. I really want to try and make the car all around quieter, but I am unsure of how to really silence the interior. I've seen dampening and insulation methods, but I am doubtful that they will have a whole lot of effect. I want the inside to be super quiet.
Also, I would really like to smoothen the ride. Is this even possible, being the size of the car?

Furthermore, what is the best way to get more bang for buck (in any area of the car)?

Any help would be appreciated.
SuperK
Supporting Member

Re: Bang for buck- noise, ride and more.

Post by SuperK »

welcome, and read this thread:

http://www.mx-3.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=75285

you may want to also look over and have your exhaust worked on, any holes will ruin it. stock exhaust is a must, make sure the resonator is still there. The OEM setup is quite quiet.

The stock suspension is the softest ride you'll find.

I would nag some 93 mx-3 seats, they're quite more comfortable.
Bane
'93 Mazda MX-3 ZE
She Hates Me
My For Sale Thread
My Feedback Thread
My GS Worklog Thread
Ryan

Post by Ryan »

Our plastic interior is terribly loud.

A few culprits:

The stock hatch HINGES are what do most of the clunking back there. Mazda now sells an updated version. If its still noisy, re-set the receiver so it holds the hatch in tension against the weather stripping.

The flip up panels in the back may wiggle in their clips. Putting a little bit of tension on it, by putting a foam paddy under it somewhere can help.