onlytrueromeo's '92 GSZE

In this section, Users can post worklogs for their vehicle and show users their projects. (MX-3 ONLY!). Please create only ONE topic when starting a project, and DO NOT create 2 worklogs for the same vehicle, even though they are different projects. READ THE STICKY!
onlytrueromeo

onlytrueromeo's '92 GSZE

Post by onlytrueromeo »

I feel its about time to start a worklog. This is my 2nd mx3, I don't have a worklog for my first one and I sold it just a few weeks ago. I didn't do much on that one anyway. I've had my 92 since June 2008, and have since done quite a bit of work. Unfortunately, I don't have all the pictures because I'm not good at keeping track of them and my computer died last month.

Here is what the car looks like today! (Nice and rainy out)

I bought the car off ebay for $800 delivered to my door. When I bought it there were ALOT of problems. The engine ran but blew oil all over the engine bay, and this is not something that had just started. The oil in the engine bay was at least 1/4 inch thick, and up to 1/2 inch in some places.

The rear struts were blown, so I knew I had to put on a new suspension.
Moonroof didn't work.
Carpet was gross and had mold (that quickly grew into a large problem)
Shifter was falling through
Many dents
Broken front lip
Bad ball joints and tie rod ends
Bad brakes all around
1 bad axle, other on its way out
Needed new clutch
Had 12/16 stripped lugnuts
Peeling white paint
1 Broken strut mount
Rear wiper sprayed and front wiper sprayer didnt work
Radio didn't shut off so it drained the battery
Probably more that I missed

Here is me working on her the day after I got it. I can't find the pictures from the ebay listing.

I took out the engine, stripped the interior and disassembled alot of the car within the first few weeks I had her.

It took me 2-3 weeks just to clean and prep the engine bay for paint. It was gross, there was alot of rust and more than alot of sludge/oil/grime/gross