Donate to the MX-3.com Forums
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently November 18 2019, 9:26 AM



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 mx-3 jap import oil change 
Author Message
Regular Member

Joined: November 30 2004, 3:01 AM
Posts: 38
Location: Guildford, England
Reply with quote
Post mx-3 jap import oil change
Hi chaps, I've done an oil change on my imported mx-3 but am confused as to why it has 3 drain plugs? I know the first one is for the engine oil but what are the other 2 for and how does one replace the oil in these? Many thanks, Sloggy.


July 09 2006, 6:57 AM
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: June 27 2006, 5:11 PM
Posts: 8
Location: Norwich, UK
Reply with quote
Post 
There is one for the sump and two on the transmission. Transmission is a pain to refill though as at the very least you have to have the battery out. The large bolt on it is the drain plug, the other, well, isn't ;)

To refill it you have to take out the speedo cable on the back of the engine and remove the 10mm bolt holding the speedo gear in place, then its got to be slipped up and out. There is a little diagram to show you the level that can only be read if you have the tranny out really, but it should be up to top of the cog's teeth when its replaced back in the engine. From empty to full should be 2.6l on the nose though.

Tranny only needs an oil change about every 100k miles really, but it never harms to do it more often.

Don't attempt this unless you have a jug and a funel though or its going to be oil everwhere (take it from me ;)

Lastly it takes 75w-90 or some other similar grade oil.


September 25 2006, 9:36 AM
Profile
Regular Member

Joined: November 30 2004, 3:01 AM
Posts: 38
Location: Guildford, England
Reply with quote
Post 
Cheers for your help, all sorted now, thankfully. I managed to top the fluid up from where the dipstick is. One tip I didn't know though, always check the auto transmission fluid when its hot, and with the engine running, I had no idea on that one, a chap who lives locally and works with auto boxes told me that one. Thanks again.


September 25 2006, 12:13 PM
Profile
Junior Member

Joined: June 27 2006, 5:11 PM
Posts: 8
Location: Norwich, UK
Reply with quote
Post 
sloggy wrote:
I managed to top the fluid up from where the dipstick is.


Hmm, you got the auto box? I have the 91 1.5l and it has no dipstick.


September 26 2006, 4:21 AM
Profile
Regular Member

Joined: November 30 2004, 3:01 AM
Posts: 38
Location: Guildford, England
Reply with quote
Post 
Its my other halves car, 1.5 93 jap import, I've got the 1.8 v6. Hers has a dipstick for checking the auto fluid but I don't know much about the Autozam to presume they all have one :?


September 26 2006, 4:53 AM
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.